HomeHome  |   Undergraduate CatalogUndergraduate Catalog  |   Graduate CatalogGraduate Catalog  |   Past CatalogsPast Catalogs  |   SXU HomeSXU Home    

University History

Saint Xavier is a comprehensive, coeducational, Catholic university sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas through the Conference for Mercy Higher Education. Founded by the Sisters of Mercy in 1846 and chartered in 1847, Saint Xavier’s historic roots make it Chicago's oldest college and one of the first institutions of higher learning in Illinois.

Founded as Saint Francis Xavier Academy for Females, Saint Xavier inaugurated college classes in 1915, became co-educational in 1969 and gained the status of a university in 1992. Continuing to grow, the University opened a second campus in Orland Park, Illinois, in 2004.

Now, the University serves a diverse population of 4,500 students and offers 50 undergraduate degree programs and over 30 graduate degree program options.