News Archive

News Story


SXU Chapter of international nursing honor society inducts 62 new members

Welcomes new members during Sunday, Nov. 11 ceremony

Chicago (Nov. 19, 2007) –The Saint Xavier University Alpha Omicron chapter of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, welcomed 62 new members in a ceremony in McGuire Hall on Sunday, Nov. 11. 

The Honor Society is one of the largest international nursing organizations. It works to nurture and network nursing scholars and leaders worldwide to improve health care. The Honor Society promotes nursing excellence through its initiatives in research, leadership, an electronic library, programming and publications, and develops and distributes nursing knowledge for use in practice. 

Membership to the Honor Society is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate exceptional achievement in nursing. To be invited to join, undergraduate students must have at least a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale, be in the upper 35 percent of his/her graduating class, and have completed at least one half of the nursing curriculum to qualify for membership. 

“You are among a distinguished group of nursing students and professionals who have met or exceeded rigorous standards and have demonstrated the ideal qualities of a leader and scholar. You truly deserve our congratulations,” said Chapter President Lynda Bartlett, MBA, MS, RN, during the induction ceremony. “As you are welcomed into this community, I applaud the current and future roles you now play and will play as clinicians, administrators, researchers, educators and health policy analysts.” 

Inductees included: 

Racquel Magundayao	Almazan - Midlothian		
Maria Verchelle Baron Arceo	 - Wheeling	
Dokota Lashon Brown-Kizer - Chicago	
Ernestina Diaz - Oak Lawn		
Laura Dykstra – Evergreen Park			
Kanisha Janee Fleming – Tinley Park		
Emyli Floyd - Oak Forest		
Michelle Garcia – Oak Lawn			
Amber Garrett- Oak Lawn			
Sheila Gaza - Worth
Molly J. Flaherty – Chicago Ridge
Anne Flowers – Tinley Park
Rachel Lynn Frenzel – Tinley Park
Jacinta Theresa Holston-Paige - Chicago		
Visethary In – Arlington Heights			
Lauren Lynne Kasmar - Chicago			
Janet Kilroy - Chicago				
Robin Lea Kramer – Joshua Tree, CA
Deborah Koncel - Chicago
Joanna Kowalczyk – Tinley Park
Sarah Lee – Oak Lawn
Jennifer Lynn Lewis - Homewood
Tadeusz Lisowski - Chicago
Maria Marta Lozano – Miami FL
Irene Valerie Mulvey - Chicago
Isabella Diane Ngala - Chicago
Angela Onyeokoro - Chicago
Robert Pemberton Jr. - Chicago
Thea Pingue - Chicago
Anastasia Quintero - Chicago
Suzanna Ramirez - Chicago
Sharlene Rodriguez – Tinley Park
Diana Lynn Simmons - Homewood
Monique Renae Vance - Waukegan
Tiffany Varghese – Duncanville, TX
Anna M. Walkosz - Burbank
Angela Willmot – New Lenox	

Eileen M.Aye- Chicago			
David William Brady- Hammond, IN		
Kristine Funck- Schaumburg			
Tajuana Johnson - Bolingbrook			
Mary V. Kane- Elg Grove			
Therese Melaniphy- Oak Lawn			
Abigail Morrow - Frankfort			
Eileen Muldoon - Chicago		
Monika Angelika Nowak - Chicago		
Patrick L. O’Brien - Lansing		
Sheila Maria Phelan - Oak Lawn		
Patricia Boylan – Hickory Hills
Coleen Carney – Orland Park
Rosa Colella – Carol Stream
Jennifer Lyn Fitzer - Manhattan
Kathleen Henry – Orland Park
Kimberly Hill – St. John. IN
Wanda Enid Martinez - Cary
Richae Muro - Hometown
Tina Murphy – Tinley Park
Jeanine Reilly - Chicago
Catherine Smith - Countryside
Kimberly Souder – New Lenox
Cary Villanueva - Brookfield

Mary Patricia Fedor – Homer Glen
Janice Frederick – Hickory Hills