Saint Xavier University

College of Arts and Sciences Scholarships

Cancer Federation Award

In 1995, the Cancer Federation selected Saint Xavier University as a recipient of the Cancer Federation Award to be awarded in perpetuity. Each year one or more biology students are selected by the faculty to receive the award. The monetary component of the award is credited to the student's tuition. In addition, the student receives a medallion which bears the image of a microscope and the student's name is added to a plaque in the S wing.

The work of the Cancer Federation is three-fold. It supports research, scholarship and publishing. In selecting the recipients, the faculty consider a variety of student characteristics and interests. Among those are dedication to continued education, interest in scholarship/research and financial need. Because the award involves a tuition reduction, it is awarded before the student's senior year.


1996 1997 1998
Salam Zyghayer Dawn Patitucci Zyad Al-Zaibak
  Debra Wajda Daniel Baleckaitis
1999 2000 2001
Yvonne O'Connell Gabriela Gracia William Stroud
  Christopher Rodriguez Jessica Zang
2002 2003 2004
John Nino Audrey Mareska Ryan Herbert
Eva Yakamova Catherine Smith Christina Palmer