Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus

Adult Scholarships

Vernon O. Crawley Scholarship

Saint Xavier University is pleased to announce the Vernon O. Crawley Scholarship for exemplary students completing their degree at Moraine Valley Community College and choosing to continue their education at Saint Xavier University.

There are eight $18,000 scholarships to be offered to students of merit who will benefit from the academic programs, services, and learning experiences available to them at Saint Xavier University during the 2017-2018 academic year.

The Vernon O. Crawley Scholarship is exclusive to students attending Moraine Valley Community College full time, taking 12 or more credit hours per semester and having earned a minimum 3.5 GPA. The candidate must be in the last semester of his/her program prior to receiving their associate degree in May of each year. Transfer students from Moraine Valley Community College must officially apply for admission to Saint Xavier University to qualify. Students may apply for admission at the admission web page

Submission Process

Moraine Valley Community College student applicants must complete a student information form as well as submit a personal statement (a maximum of 2 pages in length) indicating their educational and career goals and how their Moraine Valley and Saint Xavier degrees will help them accomplish those goals. Applicants must also obtain a reference from one faculty member from Moraine Valley Community College prior to the application deadline. All information must be submitted before February 15. 

Applications for the Vernon O. Crawley Scholarship are complete once the University has received:

  1. The applicant's personal statement and completed student information form.
  2. One faculty reference.
  3. A completed application for admission at Saint Xavier University

Confirmations will be emailed to all applicants once the required materials are received. Please direct questions regarding the process to Mary Carol Pacelli at or 708-802-6203.

Please note: A student can only qualify for one merit scholarship, either the Vernon O. Crawley Scholarship, the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship or the Transfer Merit Scholarship program. The student will be awarded the top scholarship for which he or she is eligible; these three awards are not eligible to be awarded simultaneously to the same recipient.

Students may qualify for additional financial aid by filing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).