Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus

SOC, ANTHRO and CJ Faculty

SOC, ANTHRO and CJ Faculty

Meet the faculty from the Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice Department!

Faculty

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC N-218
Phone: 773-298-3949
Fax: 773-779-9061
Email: battalora@sxu.edu

Jacqueline Battalora
Professor

  • Ph.D., Northwestern University, Religious and Theological Studies
  • M.T.S., Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary, Theology
  • J.D., University of Toledo College of Law, Law Review
Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Office: WAC N-217
Phone: 773-298-3761
Fax: 773-779-9061
Email: carey@sxu.edu

Kathleen Carey
Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Sociology
  • M.A., University of Chicago, Sociology
Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC N-213
Phone: 773-298-3555
Fax: 773-779-9061
Email: crump@sxu.edu

Tracy Crump
Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Criminology, Law and Justice
  • J.D., The John Marshall Law School
  • LL.M., Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Office: WAC E-225
Phone: 773-298-3098
Fax: 773-779-9061
Email: durante@sxu.edu

Angela Durante
Professor

  • Ph.D., Fordham University, New York, Sociology
  • M.A., Fordham University, New York, Public Communications
gutowski
Office: WAC N-226
Phone: 773-298-3271
Fax: 773-779-9061
Email: gutowski@sxu.edu

John Gutowski
Professor

  • Ph.D., Indiana University, Folklore
  • M.A., Wayne State University, English
  • B.A., Wayne State University, French and English
Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC L-315
Phone: 773-298-3554
Fax: 773-298-3314
Email: saca@sxu.edu

Iman Saca
Professor
Department Chair
Director of Middle Eastern Studies

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Anthropology
  • M.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Anthropology
Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Office: WAC N-211
Phone: 773-298-3282
Fax: 773-779-9061
Email: staylor@sxu.edu

Steven Taylor
Assistant Professor

  • ABD, University of Illinois at Chicago, Criminology, Law and Justice
  • M.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Criminology, Law and Justice

Adjunct Faculty

Rebecca Deeb, ABD
Adjunct Instructor of Anthropology
Office: WAC L-327
Phone: 773-298-3441
Email: deeb@sxu.edu

Timothy Griffin, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor of Criminal Justice
Office: WAC L-312B
Phone: 773-298-3441
Email: tgriffin@sxu.edu

Pietro Lorenzinni, Ph.D., J.D.
Adjunct Instructor of Criminal Justice
Office: WAC L-312A
Phone: 773-298-3551
Email: lorenzini@sxu.edu

Deanna Shelby, M.A., M.S.
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
Office: WAC L-312C
Phone: 773-298-3441
Email: shelby@sxu.edu

Nina Shoman-Dajani, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor of Middle Eastern Studies
Office: WAC L-312C
Phone: 773-298-3441
Email: shomandajani@sxu.edu

Theodore Thompson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
Office: WAC L-312B
Phone: 773-298-3441
Email: tthompson@sxu.edu

Benita Whitfield, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
Office: WAC L-312B
Phone: 773-298-3441
Email: whitfield@sxu.edu