Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus

Philosophy and Religious Studies Faculty

Philosophy and Religious Studies Faculty

Get to know the faculty and adjunct faculty that make up the Philosophy and Religious Studies Department.

Faculty

Michael Bathgate

Office: WAC N-418
Phone: 773-298-3027
Email: bathgate@sxu.edu

Michael Bathgate
Professor, Religious Studies

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, History of Religions
  • M.A., University of Chicago, History of Religions
  • M.S., Pennsylvania State University, Health Education
  • B.A., Pennsylvania State University, Religious Studies

Aaron Canty

Office: WAC N-321
Phone: 773-298-3584
Email: canty@sxu.edu

Aaron Canty
Professor, Religious Studies

  • Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, Theology
  • M.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison, History
  • B.A., Lawrence University, History

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Phone: 773-298-3231

Brian Klug
Fellow of the College

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Social Thought
  • M.A., Bedford College, University of London, Philosophy
  • B.A. University College London, Philosophy

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Office: WAC N-414
Phone: 773-298-3457
Email: lee@sxu.edu

Nan-Nan Lee
Associate Professor, Philosophy

  • Ph.D., Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, Philosophy
  • M.A., Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, Philosophy
  • MSW, Loyola University at Chicago, Social Work
  • B.A., National Taiwan University, Philosophy

Troy Martin

Office: WAC N-311
Phone: 773-298-3445
Email: martin@sxu.edu

Troy Martin
Professor, Religious Studies

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Bible
  • M.Div., Nazarene Theological Seminary, Bible
  • M.A., Southern Nazarene University, Religion
  • B.A., Southern Nazarene University, Religion

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC N-414
Phone: 773-298-3779
Email: morton@sxu.edu

Arthur L. Morton
Chair, Philosophy and Religious Studies Department
Associate Professor, Philosophy

  • Ph.D., University of Cincinnati, Philosophy
  • M.A., University of Cincinnati, Philosophy
  • B.A., Humboldt State University, Philosophy
  • B.A., Humboldt State University, Mathematics

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Office: WAC N-411
Phone: 773-298-3242
Email: nemeh@sxu.edu

Joanna Nemeh
Lecturer, Philosophy and Religious Studies

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Jewish Studies
  • M.A., University of Chicago, The Divinity School
  • B.A., Saint Xavier University, Philosophy

Michael O'Keeffe

Office: WAC N-410
Phone: 773-298-3394
Email: okeeffe@sxu.edu

Michael O'Keeffe
Associate Professor, Religious Studies
Director, General Education Department

  • Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
  • M.A., University of Notre Dame, Theology
  • M.A., St. John's University, Systematic Theology
  • M.Ed., University of Idaho, Guidance and Counseling
  • B.A., St. John's University, Systematic Theology

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC N-405
Phone: 773-298-3455
Email: perry@sxu.edu

Forrest Perry
Associate Professor, Philosophy

  • Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, Philosophy
  • M.A., Vanderbilt University, Philosophy
  • B.A., Wesleyan University, College of Letters

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Office: WAC N-407
Phone: 773-298-3458
Email: sturdevant@sxu.edu

Molly Sturdevant
Associate Professor, Philosophy

  • Ph.D., DePaul University, Philosophy
  • M.A., DePaul University, Philosophy
  • B.A., Colorado State University, Philosophy
  • B.A., Colorado State University, English Literature

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC N-404
Phone: 773-298-3442
Email: thorp@sxu.edu

Thomas Thorp
Professor, Philosophy

  • Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook, Philosophy
  • Eberhardt-Karls Universität, Tübingen, Germany
  • B.A., University of Kansas, Philosophy/French
  • L'Université de Haute-Bretagne, Rennes, France

Kathleen Waller

Office: WAC N-412
Phone: 773-298-3444
Email: waller@sxu.edu

Kathleen Waller
Associate Professor, Religious Studies

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, The Divinity School
  • M.A., University of Chicago, The Divinity School, Theology
  • B.S., Eastern Michigan University, History, Political Science, English

Adjunct Faculty

William Behun, Ph.D.
Office: WAC N-413
Email: behun@sxu.edu

Jason Cather
Office: WAC N-409
Email: cather@sxu.edu

David Huber
Office: WAC N-324
Email: huber@sxu.edu

Edyta Imai, Ph.D.
Office: WAC N-409
Email: imai@sxu.edu

Jon Phillips
Office: WAC N-409
Email: phillips@sxu.edu

Robert Shapiro, J.D.
Office: WAC N-413
Email: shapiro@sxu.edu

Matthew Weflen
Office: WAC N-409
Email: weflen@sxu.edu

Douglas Zimmerman
Office: WAC N-409
Email: zimmerman@sxu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Paul Hazard, Ph.D.

Jack Montgomery, Ph.D.