Mission Statement

The Department of Music is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and offers three degree programs: a bachelor of music in performance with piano, organ, voice, guitar or orchestra/band instruments as the major area of concentration; a bachelor of music in music education (K-12), with the teaching of music as the major area of concentration; and a bachelor of arts in music. In the music education program, the student may prepare for a teaching career in either vocal or instrumental music or a combination of the two. The music education programs are certified by the Illinois State Board of Education.

The Saint Xavier University Department of Music offers quality music programs, grounded in the liberal arts tradition, which prepare music students for careers in the field of music. The Music Department provides a supportive learning environment that promotes the attainment of knowledge and artistic expression within a broad cultural context serving the university and surrounding community with a variety of cultural opportunities and educational activities.