header1

Meet Our Faculty

Meet Our Faculty

The Saint Xavier University Department of Music offers quality music programs, grounded in the liberal arts tradition, which prepare music students for careers in the field of music. The Music Department faculty provide an enriched, supportive learning environment that promotes the attainment of knowledge and artistic expression within a broad cultural context.

Please take a moment to meet our talented faculty.

barwan
Email: barwan@sxu.edu

Amy Barwan

Oboe

  • B.M., DePaul University, Music Education and Oboe Performance
baxter
Email: baxter@sxu.edu

Brett Baxter

Percussion

  • M.A., Northwestern University, Percussion Performance and Literature
  • B.A., University of Missouri-Kansas City, Percussion Performance
Jan Bickel
Email: bickel@sxu.edu

Jan Bickel

Vocal Faculty Emerita

  • DMA, American Conservatory of Music in Chicago, Vocal Performance
  • M.M., Chicago Conservatory of Music, Vocal Performance
  • B.A., St. Mary's College at Notre Dame, Music
carlasare
Email: carlasare@sxu.edu

Heather Carlasare

Violin and Viola

chin
Email: chin@sxu.edu

Pablo Chin

Theory

claude
Email: claude@sxu.edu

Irene Claude

Flute

  • M.M., DePaul University
  • BMA, University of Michigan in Ann Arbor
coutts
Office: WAC G-102B
Phone: 773-298-3424
Email: coutts@sxu.edu

Greg Coutts

Director of Theoretical Studies

Music Department Chair

  • Ph.D., Northwestern University, Evanston, Music Theory 
  • M.M., Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Music Theory/Composition and Vocal Performance
  • B.A., West Liberty State University, Music Education
garrity
Email: garrity@sxu.edu

Regina Garrity

Irish Music

guarnuccio
Email: guarnuccio@sxu.edu

Bryan Guarnuccio

Aural Skills

  • DMA, Michigan State University
  • M.M., Bowling Green State University, Music Theory and Flute Performance
  • B.M., Ball State University, Flute Performance
bogan
Office: WAC G-108
Phone: 773-298-3425
Email: bogan@sxu.edu

Laura Kempa Bogan

Director of Choral Activities

  • M.M., Boston University, Choral Conducting
  • B.M., University of Michigan, Choral Music Education
kropidlowski
Email: kropidlowski@sxu.edu

Monica Kropidlowski

Piano

  • M.M., Northwestern University, Piano Performance 
lee
Office: WAC G-110
Phone: 773-298-3426
Email: plee@sxu.edu

Patricia Lee

Director of Keyboard Studies

  • M.M., DePaul University, Chicago, Piano Performance
mantell
Email: mantell@sxu.edu

Emily Mantell

Cello

matonte
Email: matonte@sxu.edu

Erin Matonte

Applied Voice

  • B.M., Evangel University, Vocal Performance
mcmichael
Email: mcmichael@sxu.edu

Stacy McMichael

String Bass

Email: tmcnichols@sxu.edu

Tom McNichols

Applied Voice

pattinson
Email: pattison@sxu.edu

Drew Pattison

Bassoon

  • M.M., DePaul University, Bassoon
  • B.A., Oberlin Conservatory, Bassoon
regan
Email: regan@sxu.edu

Lara Regan

Clarinet and Saxophone

  • M.M., Northwestern University, Saxophone Performance
  • B.A., Saint Xavier University, Music Education and Saxophone Performance 
salmon
Office: WAC G-114
Phone: 773-298-3420
Email: salmon@sxu.edu

Shawn Salmon

Director of Jazz Studies, Guitar

  • D.A., Ball State University, Guitar Performance and Composition
  • M.M., DePaul University, Jazz Studies
  • B.A., Eastern Illinois University, Jazz Studies
Dan Sartori
Email: sartori@sxu.edu

Dan Sartori

Low Brass

  • M.M., Indiana University, Trombone Performance
  • B.M., University of Wisconsin-Madison, Music Education
surma
Email: surma@sxu.edu

Daniel Surma

Piano

thompson
Office: WAC G-106
Phone: 773-298-3422
Email: jkthompson@sxu.edu

Joshua Thompson

Director of Instrumental Activities, Trumpet

  • D.M.A., University of Iowa
  • B.M., Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, Instrumental Performance and Music Education
valazquez
Email: pvelazquez@sxu.edu

Paulette Velazquez

Horn

  • M.M., San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Horn Performance
  • B.M., University of Illinois, Horn Performance