Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus Quad

Meet Our Faculty

Meet Our Language and Literature Faculty

Get to know the experienced faculty that form the Language and Literature Department!

Faculty

ambrose
Office: WAC N-416
Phone: 773-298-5240
Email: ambrose@sxu.edu

Shannon Ambrose
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, English
  • M.A., University of Connecticut, Storrs., Medieval Studies
  • M.A., Ohio University, Athens, OH, English
  • B.A., Carroll College, Helena, MT, English
barros garcia
Office: WAC N-419
Phone: 773-298-3234
Email: barrosgarcia@sxu.edu

María J. Barros García
Assistant Professor

  • Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Linguistics
  • Ph.D., University of Granada, Spain, Spanish Linguistics (Honors)
  • M.A., University of Granada, Spain, Spanish Linguistics
  • M.A., University of Granada, Spain, Spanish Teaching as a Foreign Language
  • Teacher Scholar Certificate, University of Granada, Spain
  • B.A., University of Granada, Spain, Hispanic Philology


Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC N-416
Phone: 773-298-3236
Email: bonadonna@sxu.edu

Angelo Bonadonna
Associate Professor
Language and Literature Department Chair

boyer
Office: WAC N-427
Phone: 773-298-3233
Email: boyer@sxu.edu

Norman Boyer
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Denver, Theatre History
  • M.A., University of Denver, Theatre
  • B.A., Millikin University, History and Speech
gutowski
Office: WAC N-323
Phone: 773-298-3271
Email: gutowski@sxu.edu

John Gutowski
Professor

  • Ph.D., Indiana University, Folklore
  • M.A., Wayne State University, English
  • B.A., Wayne State University, French and English
hathcock
Office: WAC N-423
Phone: 773-298-3235
Email: hathcock@sxu.edu

Nelson Hathcock
Professor

  • Ph.D., Penn State University, University Park, PA
  • M.A., North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC
  • B.A., North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC
Karen Kaiser Lee
Office: WAC N-429
Phone: 773-298-3230
Email: kaiserlee@sxu.edu

Karen Kaiser Lee
Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D., Purdue University, English Rhetoric and Composition
  • M.A., Florida State University, English
  • B.A., University of Florida, English
karim
Office: WAC N-415
Phone: 773-298-3719
Email: karim@sxu.edu

Aisha Karim
Associate Professor

rossetti
Office: WAC N-214
Phone: 773-298-3598
Email: rossetti@sxu.edu

Gina Rossetti
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Tennessee, English
  • M.A., Northeastern University, English (Honors)
  • B.A., Regis College, English & Political Science (Summa Cum Laude)
tegan
Office: WAC N-227
Phone: 773-298-3240
Email: tegan@sxu.edu

Mary Beth Tegan
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Southern California, English
Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC N-417
Phone: 773-298-3274
Email: vilella@sxu.edu

Olga Vilella
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Romance Languages and Literatures
  • M.S., Columbia University, Journalism
  • A.B., Vassar College, History

Adjunct Faculty

Romana Amato
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: amato@sxu.edu

David Beran
Office: WAC N-426
Phone: 773-298-3237
Email: beran@sxu.edu

Jennele Berry
Office: WAC N-223
Phone: 773-298-3204
Email: jberry@sxu.edu

Juanita Del Toro
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: deltoro@sxu.edu

Diego Espiña Barros
Office: WAC N-421
Phone: 773-298-3814
Email: espinabarros@sxu.edu

Mia Garrison
Office: WAC N-426
Phone: 773-298-3237
Email: mgarrison@sxu.edu

Anna Gasienica-Byrcyn
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: byrcyn@sxu.edu

Breeanna Greska
Office: WAC N-420
Phone: 773-298-3868
Email: bgreska@sxu.edu

Thomas Haffner
Office: WAC N-420
Phone: 773-298-3868
Email: haffner@sxu.edu

Katrina Kemble
Office: WAC N-421
Phone: 773-298-5239
Email: kemble@sxu.edu

Alex S. Kurczaba
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: kurczaba@sxu.edu

Martha Fabiola Marolda
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: marolda@sxu.edu

Annmarie Mead
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: mead@sxu.edu

Carol Medrano
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: medrano@sxu.edu

Robert Mellin
Office: WAC N-221
Phone: 773-298-3460
Email: mellin@sxu.edu

Nicole Selvaggio
Office: WAC N-221
Phone: 773-298-3460
Email: selvaggio@sxu.edu

Feiruz Shehadi
Office: WAC N-421
Phone: 773-298-5239
Email: shehadi@sxu.edu

Elizabeth Stewart
Office: WAC N-428
Phone: 773-298-3239
Email: estewart@sxu.edu

Maha Sweis-Dababneh
Online Course
Email: sweisdababneh@sxu.edu

Christine Wilson
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: cewilson@sxu.edu