header1

Department of Biology

Biological Sciences Undergraduate Research

During the course of their studies, biology majors may choose to participate in the Undergraduate Research Program in Biology (URPB). The URPB offers motivated students an opportunity to conduct original laboratory and/or field research in a variety of different areas of biology under the guidance of a faculty mentor.

For additional information or questions, feel free to contact the following faculty members:

Christopher W. Appelt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences
Warde Academic Center
Phone: 773-298-3521
E-mail: appelt@sxu.edu 
Research Interests: Animal behavior, ecology, conservation
Ongoing Projects:

Liane Cochran-Stafira, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences
Warde Academic Center
Phone: 773-298-3513
E-mail: cochran@sxu.edu
Research Interests:
Community and Evolutionary Ecology, Aquatic Ecology, Microbial Ecology
Ongoing projects:

Randy Krohmer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences
Warde Academic Center
Phone: 773-298-3527
E-mail: krohmer@sxu.edu
Research Interests:
Neuroendocrine control of courtship behavior in a species exhibiting a dissociated reproductive pattern, the red-sided garter snake
Ongoing projects:

Tatiana C. Tatum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
Warde Academic Center
Phone: 773-298-3408 
E-mail: tatum@sxu.edu
Research Interests:
Cytogenetics, environmental science
Ongoing Projects:

Other Contacts

David Elmendorf
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Warde Academic Center
Phone: 773-298-5243
E-mail: elmendorf@sxu.edu
Joseph Dertien
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Warde Academic Center
Phone: 773-298-5262
E-mail: dertien@sxu.edu
Rick Monzon
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Warde Academic Center
Phone: 773-341-5241
E-mail: monzon@sxu.edu