header1

College of Arts and Sciences

Academic Departments

Department Chair Email Phone
Art and Design Monte Gerlach, M.S. gerlach@sxu.edu 773-298-3082
Biological Sciences Randolph Krohmer, Ph.D. krohmer@sxu.edu 773-298-3527
Chemistry Alak Chakravorty, Ph.D. chakravorty@sxu.edu 773-298-3526
Communication James Walker, Ph.D. walker@sxu.edu 773-298-3370
Communication Sciences and Disorders William Sennett, Ph.D. sennett@sxu.edu 773-298-3567
Computer Science Jean Mehta D.A. mehta@sxu.edu 773-298-3392
English and Foreign Languages Nelson Hathcock, Ph.D. hathcock@sxu.edu 773-298-3235
History and Political Science Michael Clark, Ph.D. clark@sxu.edu 773-298-3282
Mathematics Barbara Becker, D.A. becker@sxu.edu 773-298-3385
Music Greg Coutts, Ph.D. coutts@sxu.edu 773-298-3424
Philosophy Jason Aleksander, Ph.D. aleksander@sxu.edu 773-298-3242
Physical Education Janice Pape, M.ED. pape@sxu.edu 773-298-3483
Psychology Greg Coutts (acting chair) coutts@sxu.edu 773-298-3207
Religious Studies Aaron Canty, Ph.D. canty@sxu.edu 773-298-3584
Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice Elijah Ward, Ph.D. eward@sxu.edu 773-298-3453

Academic Programs

Program Director/Coordinator Email Phone
African American Studies

Elijah Ward, Ph.D.

aas@sxu.edu

773-298-3391
Community-Based Learning

Denise DuVernay

cbl@sxu.edu

773-341-5889
Environmental and Sustainability Studies

Christopher Appelt, Ph.D.

ess@sxu.edu 773-298-3391
General Education Program Michael O'Keeffe, Ph.D okeeffe@sxu.edu 773-298-3394
Honors Program Mary Beth Tegan, Ph.D. tegan@sxu.edu 773-298-3240
Latino/Latin American Studies Olga Vilella, Ph.D. vilella@sxu.edu 773-298-3274
Middle Eastern Studies

Iman Saca, Ph.D.

mes@sxu.edu 773-298-3391
Pre-Health Randy Krohmer, Ph.D. krohmer@sxu.edu 773-298-3527

Pre-Law

Matthew Costello, Ph.D.

prelaw@sxu.edu 773-298-3391
Pastoral Ministry Institute Avis Clendenen, Ph.D. clendenen@sxu.edu 773-341-3983
Women and Gender Studies

TBD

wgst@sxu.edu 773-298-3287